Actions Not Triggering at Expected Times

Hello, I’m a relatively new DBA and I’m trying to setup sqlwatch in our environment.

I have the blocked process monitor setup to email me when blocking is detected and I thought I configured it to send me repeat alerts every 5 minutes with an hourly limit of 3, but this is not what I’m experiencing.

I created a row in sqlwatch_config_check_action as such:
check_id=-2
action_id=-1
action_every_failure=1
action_recovery=1
action_repeat_period_minutes=5
action_hourly_limit=3
action_template_id=-2

I create blocking to test this
(I run two queries, one in a transaction with TABLOCKX, HOLDLOCK and the other a normal select against the same table)
and I’m receiving two emails as the initial alerts, the only difference is the alert time is 207ms apart. If I check sqlwatch_logger_check, I can see the check triggering as CRITICAL check_status only once and at every minute as I would expect.

These two, nearly identical emails, are the only email notification I’ve received so far about 30 minutes later. I appreciate any help understanding how sqlwatch_config_check_action works to configure repeat and timing of notifications. I’ve read your posts here and on stackexchange, but I’m not having luck figuring out what’s wrong or making work as I’d like it to.

For what it’s worth, action_recovery does seem to work fine, which I really like. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Hi,

To help with debugging, you can enable verbose logging with the below:

update [dbo].[sqlwatch_config]
	set config_value = 1
  where config_name = 'Logger Log Info messages'

This will start logging quite a lot of info in the [dbo].[sqlwatch_app_log] table. You will have to dig out those relevant to this particular action/check and let me see it, please. Once done, disable the verbose logging:

update [dbo].[sqlwatch_config]
	set config_value = 0
  where config_name = 'Logger Log Info messages'

Thanks. I enabled verbose logging.

The first three entries look like this: